Oracle 11gR2 2-node RAC on VMware Workstation 8 – Part VI

Time Required: 60 minutes

Class Materials:

  • none

Next we are going to create two networks for our RAC system to talk on.

The Oracle RAC system requires at least two network connections between cluster nodes. One network will be the public IP and the second will be a private IP reserved for inter-cluster traffic.

VMware Workstation allows us to create virtual networks for both tasks. Although we could potentially use the Bridge Network adapter for our public IP, I am installing this on a laptop computer and my so my laptop’s IP address changes as I travel.

Instead I will use virtual networks for both RAC’s public and private networks. This will ensure stability of my cluster regardless of whether I am using it at the Marriott in Boston, the Hilton in Los Angeles or at home in Seattle.

First I recommend you shut down your RHEL 5.5 VM. If you have not already done so, now is a good time to make a full clone for backup purposes.

Next we are going to use the VMware Workstation interface and select Edit->Virtual Network Editor.

This allows us to create new virtual networks that allow our guest VMs to talk amongst themselves, to the host computer and/or to the outside world.

For this example I am going to create VMnet2 and VMnet3.

VMnet2 will be a host-only network allowing communication to other VMs and the host, but not to the outside world. We will assign a Subnet IP of 10.10.1.0 to VMnet2, and a Subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

VMnet3 will also be a host-only network allowing communication to other VMs and the host, but not to the outside world. We will assign a Subnet IP of 10.10.2.0 to VMnet3, and a Subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

For both VMnet2 and VMnet3 DHCP is enabled.

Now we have our two networks created in VMware, we will add two new NICs to our VM.

Right click on the VM in the VMware Workstation menu, and select Settings. This will bring up the Virtual Machine Settings panel.

Now click Add

The Add Hardware Wizard allows us to select Network Adapter

On the Network Adapter Type menu, we will select the Custom: Specific virtual network radio button, and use the drop down to select VMNet2.

Now repeat the above steps to add another Network Adapter, this time using VMNet3.

Our final VM hardware configuration should look like this:

We are now ready to clone our VM. From this point forward we will have two machines, and we will start to think of them individually.

I like opera, and since this is my party I get to choose the music, so I am going to call my two virtual machines Orpheus and Eurydice.

Right click on the VM and select Manage->Clone. This will pull up the cloning dialog box. If you have been making clones of the machine throughout the previous parts then you will already be familiar with this dialog.

I recommend you select Create a full Clone.

VMware will prompt you for a name for your new clone. In my example I cloned the base image twice, once for Orpheus and again for Eurydice.

Keep a note on disk free space, since full clones can consume disk space fast.

Article Quick Navigation
Previous Step Main Index Next Step
3 thoughts on “Oracle 11gR2 2-node RAC on VMware Workstation 8 – Part VI

  1. kindly help, i m in stuck, i have been struggling to create two different sent of IP addresses in two VM machines. after i tried full clone, i m always getting 10.10.1.10, 10.10.2.10(VM1) and 10.10.1.10, 10.10.2.10(VM2), not able to set 10.10.1.20 and 10.10.10.2.20

    • Hi Muzibur,

      After you clone the VM, start up VM2 and use the Linux desktop to navigate to:

      System->Preferences->Network Connections

      Then edit eth1 and eth2.

      You can set the IP address on the tab marked “IPv4 Settings”

      Be sure to hit Apply and save your changes.

      Hope that helps.

      Gruff

  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after
    going through a few of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon
    itt and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

